Due to development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local business are unable to compete. some thought that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree??

Many people think that stores in many places are impacting the regional shops, where they are closing business because of the competition by these super marts. These shutdowns are also affecting the local neighbourhood. I completly agree with this statement because local stores have a cultural identity, and also impact less on the environment. The main reason i agree with statement is that local businesses have a cultural identity which supermarkets cannot replicate. This is due to shops in a community have a unique culture and traditions which are attributed to the people in neighbourhood. Whereas, big corporations are large chain operations where there is no unique identity to associate with. As a example take a look at big chain markets in the USA like Walmart, Costco where the shops are similar to each other in different localities and just identify with brand and not the people. Secondly, another reason for my agreement is these big convenience-stores can have a huge impact on environment with there carbon emissions. Additonally these outlets throw out the waste generated in to Join the words into show examples the landfills effecting the atmosphere. However with the local shops the garbage management is effecient and generated less comapared to supermarkets, resulting in less environmental pollution. For instance, take a look at waste produced by Walmart, which is estimated to be at 42% per year with food waste and 23% with dry waste. To sum up, the points discussed which are environmental effects and lack of cultural integartion with big convenience stores in the country agree with the statement. There needs to be a certain number of large supermarts where they can be situated in city centers, which can encourage small businesses to grow in there locality.