The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. In an effort to deal with a health issue involved, some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduced more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The sheer cost of health issues due to obesity has been becoming a widely-concern matter for nations stifling economic growth. This, according to some individuals, could be addressed by the allocation of more school times to physical activities. It seems to me that this might be the solution, and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, the merits of physically active pupils could be significant in the long run. By this, we mean that taking more sports courses by youngsters can gradually improve not only their body shapes but also their minds as it is frequently said that a healthy body equals a healthy mind. This could contribute to their triumph in their studies thus better appearance and position in the future. A good case in point is an experiment being done over 10 years in France where extra sports hours have been implemented in some educational institutions. The results demonstrate that the young ones studying in these places are healthier and more successful than their peers. A second factor is children's impact on their parents. It is undeniable that adults having sporty kids have more tendency to accompany their beloved ones. This leads them to more outdoor activities thus fitter body. This would bring about a healthier society causing less pressure on health system. Admittedly, I agree with those who argue that the dedication of more teaching times to sports activities could stray students from their major path which is learning important lessons such as mathematics and literature. However, this could be tackled by taking suitable measures meaning that principles should allocate after class hours to physical activities with promising rewards in order to encourage youngsters to participate. To summarize, this is not to say that the introduction of more physical activities in schools is the only way to solve overweighting consequences. But it seems reasonable to prevent such issues from early ages. However, proper practices should be adopted to prevent possible adverse effects on pupils' educations.