In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children follow rules?

Children are the beautiful creation of god and parents are the gardeners. Their upbringing is enjoyable and challenging. They are like clay which requires mending and molding efficiently. Some people believe that they should be brought up under discipline and stringent rules and regulations while others think freedom should be given to them. The extent to which children have to follow rules is in itself a very complex issue, since children across the world grow up in very different cultures. In my home country for example, the level of morality is very high and children have to be very submissive to their parents as well as other adults around them. This however, is not the case in the western countries where children grow with enough liberty. I believe that following strict rules has both advantages as well as serious drawbacks. Firstly, strict rules of behaviour create responsible and respectful children who in turn mature into respectful adults. This forms a stable society which is virtually free from vices such as prostitution and drug abuse. Secondly, if children do not follow strict rules of behaviour, they will get out of hand and become workshy and indolent. This will then create a burden on society since the government has to find ways to cater for these social ills and crime. However, forcing children to follow strict rules of behaviour doesn’t always yield positive results. Children start showing erratic behaviour, disrespecting others and may work against society. In addition to this, strict rules destroy the individuality of a child. A child doesn’t blossom to its full personality. It may lead to live a stressful life. Overall, instead of imposing, children should be guided by rules. Every human needs space to develop their own personality traits and to adopt an accepted behavioural pattern of their own. Rules should be a part of discipline but shouldn’t generate fear or an erratic behaviour.