Some people think the government should spend more money on sport facilities for top athletes. Other people think the government should spend more money on sport facilities for everybody. Discuss both views

There has been a fierce debate in the community whether the national budget should be allocated to advance sports amenities for elite sportsmen or for the ordinary. This essay aims to evaluate both assertions before concluding that such enhanced sports facilities would be better equipped for both groups rather than prioritizing any specific figure. On the one hand, athletes in top class receive sports facilities from government assistance, thereby emerging various merits. In fact, most renowned athletes represent a particular nation to compete with rivals from other regions in several international sports games. Therefore, investing top-notch sports infrastructures is conducive to maximize the quality of training environments for sportsmen, spurring prestigious victories which not only boost reputation themselves, but also their whole country. A prime example is Anh Vien, a prominent Vietnamese swimmer, used to win many medals in global contests, thus enhancing Vietnam’s international status in the arena and captivating tourists and sports fanatics to travel to Vietnam, which triggers a rapid economic growth. Conversely, enhancing sports amenities should be supplied by government subsidy for ordinary citizens. It is explicit that not only do athletes necessitate these supports, but the ordinary as well. Owing to the fact that if ordinary people do not do exercises, a medical burden on society will appear due to health diseases like obesity. By facilitating better-equipped public sports facilities, the authorities could stimulate the number of residents engaging in physical activities, thus replacing an increasingly prevalent sedentary lifestyle by an active one resulting in a physical well-being among the community. Hence, the government should strike a balance between professional players and ordinary people to foster a sense of equality in both groups. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that it would be better if the national supply for sport amenities divides into both groups encompassing top athletes and the ordinary. In view of the values which those players bring about and the importance of citizens’ health, the balance in financial support of the government for sports facilities plays a crucial role.