With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered area of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extend do you agree?

The rising global demand for fossil fuels has prompted the discussion regarding tapping into new oil and gas -rich reserves, which have previously been restricted for use. I firmly disagree with this idea, as fossil fuels are non-renewable resources, and their extraction and ignition cause significant environmental damage. Oil and gas are found in deep bedrocks of the Earth, they are formed over millions of years and therefore, are exhaustible. Their limited availability makes it crucial to conserve them for future generations and times of crisis. Over 60 per cent of the world's discovered oil and natural gas rigs have been depleted. Since the exact location and amount of fossil fuel reserves are not known, it's difficult to estimate the amount we will have in the future. This makes it essential to use our remaining resources judiciously.  The process of extracting fossil fuels leads to extensive scarring of the Earth, and it also harms the natural flora and fauna of the region. Combustion of oils and natural gas releases nitric oxide, carbon dioxide and sulphur dioxide into the Earth's atmosphere. These emissions deplete the ozone layer, which directly contributes to global warming and climate change. Hence, it is necessary to utilise the renewable resources to meet our increasing energy demands. These can be a fitting alternative as they are unlimited and do not have a negative impact on the planet. In conclusion, it is best to leave the undiscovered oil and gas reserves untouched as they might be more essential in the future, and their use can cause irreparable damage to nature.