Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Most community prefer to spend their free time, watching TV shows or movies. This behaviour is generating a change in society, making it lazier and more unsocial. This essay agrees with the statement provided above. People try to be happy, and in order to increase that feeling we need to generate a hormone called “Dopamine”, which is generated by practising sports, enjoying natural environments or watching TV. Most of society would choose to watch TV rather than other options as it is easier and the outcome can be felt instantly. As a consequence, the demand for TV shows has been increasing over the last decades. On top of that, people get lost in their TV shows, losing time notion, resulting in a significant drop in social relationships. To begin with, ¿Why are TV shows becoming more and more popular? As we mentioned before, people need to feel happy, this feeling can be achieved by releasing a hormone called “Dopamine”. Our body can generate “Dopamine” as a response to many activities, however, one of the easier ones, is watching TV. As a result, people are replacing crucial exercise such as going to the gym, hiking and trekking, by watching TV in order to obtain the same feelings as before, but in an easier way. For instance, in the U.S., during the last decades, we have been noticing a drop in gym memberships and assistance, and at the same time, we have been seeing a rise in streaming and TV platform subscriptions. On the other hand, community get lost in their TV shows, and most of them cannot even notice the passing of time. As a conclusion, we have people becoming addicted and preferring to spend their nights at home watching movies than actually interacting with other society. For example, in my personal case, when I was younger I was always trying to make plans and activities during the weekend, however now, I am waiting for the weekend to see my favourite TV show, and as a consequence, my interaction with other human beings has decreased. To conclude, this essay agrees with the statement expressed above, as population prefer to get “Dopamine” by watching TV shows and movies over practising other activities, and, since TV shows have been becoming more popular, social interaction dropped significantly.