Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

I don't think visual art is a waste of money, it is part of the government's urban construction arrangements for the beautification of the urban environment. First of all, the most important point of visual art for urban beautification is that it can cover the most dilapidated places of a city, optimize the already beautiful places, and raise the overall image of the city, so as to enable residents to enjoy urban life more and live in the city safely and comfortably. Secondly, good visual art can improve the artistic atmosphere of the whole city, cultivate children's artistic aesthetic imperceptibly, and let people feel the influence of culture. It's part of the city's culture. Good visual arts can make a city look new and vibrant. Finally, good visual art can make the local scenery more unique and attract more people to travel, which increases the tourism income of the city and promotes the economic development of the city. It can be seen that visual art is not a waste of money for the city, but can improve the city's environment, culture and economy to a large extent.