Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that the primary cause for learning other languages is to travel to or to do a job in a foreign nation while others say that there are other factors to learning a foreign language. I believe that while it is important to speak fluently at work or for study purposes, language is an essential key for personal growth and social integration. Some argue that language is important for only study purposes or work abroad. This is because if a person wants to study higher education and do work in a foreign nation, a good score on the language proficiency test is mandatory to fulfil the requirement for the admission procedure. For instance, English countries, such as Australia, the United States, England and Canada, accept IELTS, PTE and TOEFL to get enrolled in a university or college. So, men and women learn the English language to get a higher band in those exams so that they can travel overseas. Despite this, I would argue that language is very important for growth in person. Learning a language can be a fulfilling personal challenge that provides a sense of personal growth and good social interaction. In a foreign state, communication skills are a key to success in a personal and professional career. For instance, big companies prefer to employ a person whose English is smart and also give incentives for good work. I, therefore, believe a command of language is the first step to fit in society and also boost confidence in a person. In conclusion, while language is important to get admission overseas, I think it is essential key for long-term stay in a foreign country.