Today, many people prefer to eat their meals alone. What are the causes of this? How do you think it can influence individuals and society?

The picture of a traditional family while eating lunch or dinner is no longer seen in movies or series, as modern families are characterized by busy people gobbling up their meals alone, possibly doing another task. This social change is caused by certain factors, and exerts pronounced effects on the family and society. The root cause of people having to, or preferring to, eat alone lies in the huge volume of work they have to do. Modern jobs necessitate members of staff staying in their workplace until evening, with a short lunch break. The enormous size of metropolitan areas makes it practically impossible to go home at noon, and return to work afterwards, so most people do not bother to leave their workplace to have lunch with their family, even if they have a few hours time. Women, on the other hand, generally work outside home, so they are less likely to cook for lunch, and sometimes dinner. As a result, members of the family do not feel the emotional burden to be at home for lunch or dinner to express their gratitude for the time and energy their mother has devoted to cooking. While at home, family members appear not to have a close bond with each other, or share the taste of each other in food, which drives them to eat alone. Again, the picture of a middle-aged woman eating her diet salad while her son is eating a hotdog in his room watching Spiderman is stereotypical of many movies and series these days. The most important effect that eating meals alone can exert on society is the growing distance between family members. It should never be forgotten that eating meals with family members creates an occasion on which family members can speak together, discuss their problems, share their ideas and practice being a "family member". One's reluctance to eat clearly sends a message that he/she has been through a horrible day, or is facing a problem, driving other members of the family to find a solution quickly. Modern families are unfortunately deprived of this golden opportunity, creating more and more distance between them. In fact, the growing tendency to eat alone is caused by, and causes, cold relationships in the family. We seem to be stuck in a vicious cycle here. Interestingly, those people who eat alone finish their meals much faster, possibly because they do not need to observe the etiquette of eating, which has its own implications for their digestive system and health. To sum up, I hold the view that eating alone is a phenomenon for which modernity should be held accountable. In fact, it is one of the perceived disadvantages of modern life, because dining with family members shows one's commitment to his/her family, creates a golden opportunity to communicate and possibly brings medical advantages.