Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In school, being taught English is perceived as more vital than being taught local tongues. If local languages are not taught, they will disappear. In my opinion, I think it is necessary for all students to learn English because it is the language that is recognised globally. Moreover, it is also vital to make sure that local tongue do not desire, meaning that they should never be neglected in the pedagogy sector. On the one hand, it is paramount for all students to learn English because it is a language that is used and recognised internationally. Further, for a student to go a learn or work abroad, they need to pass English. For example, all nurses who want to work in the United Kingdom, it is necessary for them to pass the International English Language Testing System (ielts) examinations. On the other hand, the government should ensure that the survival of local languages is not ignored. The pedagogy sector must see to it that tongues are emphasised in schools. Moreover, children need to know and understand their mother tongue because it will fade away. These languages should be spoken in homes and different local platforms should be encouraged to have programs that incorporate our vernacular. For instance, in Zimbabwe, they are television and radio programs that are done and these also incorporate even the elderly people who come in and encourage the young ones about the nations’ customs. In conclusion, it is paramount for learner to be taught English in their school as it is a language that is globally used. In addition, those who want to work and study abroad will definitely need to pass ielts for them to be accepted. Conversely, our government should ensure that our local languages should never be allowed to die.