In some countries, facial recognition and vein pattern recognition are gaining in popularity in biometric security. Is this positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Many nations around the globe are adopting identification systems for biometric security. Although I agree that it has a massively enhanced biometric security mechanism, it has privacy concerns that require serious attention. On the one hand, these identification systems provide a secure and robust framework for verification compared to traditional PINs and passwords. Since every human has a unique set of facial features and finger prints, it is nearly impossible to duplicate them, so there is no risk of identity fraud or theft. For instance, Google uses a facial recognition system to monitor the attendance of employees and replace manual clocking in and out procedures. Moreover, the data of these systems is kept secured in databases encrypted with highly sophisticated security algorithms, such as AES encryption. On the other hand, identification systems have indeed gained lots of trust from several governments and corporations, but unfortunately, they have given rise to several cases of misuse and exploitation. With the advancement in the field of artificial intelligence, many cases of deep fake videos of people have emerged, accusing them of incidents they didn't commit. For example, a model committed suicide after a deep fake sex scandal surfaced on the internet. Furthermore, the personal data of individuals is sold or provided to private businesses without consent.  In conclusion, I must say that while recognition systems have indeed enhanced security, strict regulations and policies should be implemented to minimise privacy issues.