In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the development in medical industries, life expectancy is getting longer and longer. Some see this as negative phenomenon, creating problems to govern, while others admit the benefits of accepting the elder generation. This essay completely agrees with the latter point because their contribution and the insightful lessons they give to society is unquestionable. First, it is undeniable that older people are also participating as workers, and they contribute to society just as younger generations do. The improvement in health services resulted in the longer years for the employees to work. For instance, in Japan, the retirement age for workers in public institutions was 55, decades ago, while the earliest to retire is 61 nowadays. Moreover, many people that are aged than 70 are still continuing to participate in the industries they used to work. This shows that older generations should be considered as solid members of the community since they contribute by using their techniques or knowledge they earned in their youth. Adding to that point, the lessons the senior generation can provide us is invaluable in multiple means. Especially in the developed countries, the acknowledgement for the war is pale compared to a century ago. Elders’ memory of their suffering days must be remembered in any communities to aim for their peace and keep their history. For example, many Vietnamese children learn from their grandparents about the war and post-war period as their class work. This experience led the children to be fully aware of the risk of starting the war. Thus, older generations' experiences and their lessons are irreplaceable in order to maintain peaceful lives. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that seniors benefit society considering their contribution as workers and their educational memories.