You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, there has been an unprecedented surge in public curiosity about global news, sparking extensive discussion regarding the modes of news acquisition. One prevailing viewpoint suggests that nowadays reading newspapers and watching news programmes have been replaced with surfing the Internet for the news about the world. From my perspective, this phenomenon should be regarded as a positive development for individuals. One compelling argument in favour of acquiring global news from the Internet is that it is conducive to obtaining the latest and real-time news at any time or place. At present, the Internet is universally acknowledged as a powerful manner to know the instant news. Compared to these traditional modes, surfing the Internet to get global news usually guarantees their targeted groups can get what they are seeking as quickly as possible. For instance, the news about natural disasters such as droughts or floods can be gained through the Internet a few hours later after these happen. Moreover, for those who cannot discover any newspaper to read or a TV to watch, the utilization of the Internet provides them with a direct pathway to know real-time news, optimizing their time cost and resources for news acquisition. Furthermore, the ubiquity of the Internet highlights another merit of ensuring the authenticity and reliability of global news. First, the majority of the news on the Internet has reliable information resources as the inspectors of the social media platforms are required and forced to check the authenticity of the presented news. Simultaneously, different from the newspapers and TV news programmes, the most significant advantage of the Internet is that outdated or false news can be updated or corrected properly. For example, journalists can more readily rectify the mistaken information or figures presented in the Internet news, allowing citizens to contact authentic press or coverage. Therefore, such characteristics further prompt citizens to trust the news released on the Internet. In conclusion, recognizing the profound impacts of the Internet on accessibility and authenticity, I once again reaffirm my stance that acquiring global news through the Internet means a more positive advancement and achievement in today's globalized world, making news acquisition a convenient affair.