In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing, Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

In today’s world, it appears that the increasing number of the elderly meets controversial opinions from different people. Some agree that this trend offers benefits while others argue that there may include many drawbacks to society. From my perspective, this issue has both sides that need consideration. To begin with, several upsides can be seen when there are more and more old people in many countries. First and foremost, in terms of careers, older workers may have more opportunities to pursue their dreams with their long-term experience. Unlike when they were young, naive and struggling to earn a living without thinking of chasing their dream jobs, the elderly can be promoted and have enough money to start up or do what they hardly did before with ease. Secondly, regarding exploration, the retired can have more chances to explore some places in the world that they have never experienced. In other words, the period when they enjoy every moment of their lives can be prolonged. Thus, it can be seen that there are many positive aspects of this trend. On the other hand, This issue also poses some threads to both residents and governments. One of the main problems is also about occupations. To make it clear, this trend enhances the elderly’s opportunities and closes the window of the young simultaneously. It is impossible for the ones who have just stepped out of the gate of university to have an equal chance as the old people. Another challenge is related to governments. That the number of old people is increasing means the fees for health services also rose as there are many risks of certain illnesses to the old people. Nursing homes are also necessary due to the lack of those who can take care of the elderly. This affects directly the income of a nation as well as the quality of life all over the world. In conclusion, while this trend presents some advantages including careers and travelling, it also offers disadvantages such as fewer opportunities for the young and health services. Therefore, it is vital to take advantage of its benefits and consider its potential consequences.