The best way to make roads safer is to make vehicle drivers take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few decades it is a subject matter to make roads safer and as one of the options it is proposed to take an exam annually from car drivers. I partially disagree with this statement, since there is more viable other ways than checking driver's knowledge. On the one hand, there are an array of reasons to take an exams. First and foremost is safety. It is undeniable that there is a people who can break an established rules deliberately and this type of people do not give a penny to either law by a state or life civilians. So, if they fail in exam, they should not be allowed to drive untill the next exams. Moreover, drivers after a long time may forget all marginal rules and to prevent accidents in such situations they should pass exams in particular time intervals. On the other hand, in my own opinion there are more efficient ways to make roads safe. Knowledge, firstly, is not enough for guaranteering the safety. It is presedented that most of people know during their crimes that it is illegal but they do it. So, instructing them necessary knowledge is not enough. A wise step by government can diminish the amount of accidents. For instance, making a rough law that imposes a brutal punishment can startle drivers as they know what will wait them if they break rules. To conclude, despite the facts above in favour of taking exams, i reckon that there are more important aspects that need more attention and new reforms such as legislation and construction.