Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a plethora of countries are focusing on increasing domestic food production in order to reduce their reliance on imports. In my view, I disagree with this approach, because the conditions of each country are different some countries face agricultural problems. Thus this essay will elaborate on both sides of view in the following paragraph. Firstly, in some countries, there is a lack of agricultural qualities such as the soil, water or landscape of the country. Therefore, it doesn't have sufficient results to produce food for all populations which encourages to import of food from other countries. For example, in Singapore, they import food from every country around the world also fresh ingredients from the SEA because there are only 3% of the whole country produces the foods. Moreover, Singapore must pay import tax on food in high cost of food for an inadequate population. Secondly, a tax on imported food is part of stimulating the country's economy. In fact, a variety of countries add the value of the ingredient for exporting it at an expensive price; in particular, in Japan, the iconic food of the countries is Matsusaka wagyu which is a luxury ingredient thus Japan can export this beef at an expensive price. Hence, exporting food for sale around the world is therefore part of the way to stimulate the economy. In conclusion, manufacturing food for all citizens depends on the conditions of each country because every country has different locations which is essential for agriculture. Even producing food in the country itself will be an advantage for the country because, in addition to being able to produce for the people in the country, it can also be exported to stimulate the country's economy.