Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behavior. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

Some individuals think that it is a good idea to reward children for good behaviour. Others believe it is important to punish them for bad behaviour. It is my belief that both rewards and punishments have to be carefully given in other to not spoil kids. Rewards are given to foster good behaviour, but sometimes using them in excess causes damage, and frequent punishment of children's mistakes affects their mental health. It is important to be aware of how frequently and for which reason we are rewarding our children in order to keep their motivation high. Although it is vital to prise them, doing it in excess easily spoils them and as a result, they behave only looking for the prize rather than for the will to be polite. For instance, in my own experience, I have noticed that Elias, who is my youngest son, doesn't even care to say hello when I pick him up from school. In contrast, he asked for the gift that I was used to bringing him at that moment, so I just decided to stop doing it. On the other hand, although punishment is not a recommended method, sometimes it is necessary due to some children behavior's limits that parents should impose. However, these punishments must be given only in a few opportunities and don't have to be physical. Otherwise, it affects children's mental health. Some studies have shown that kids, whose parents punish them frequently, tend to become excessively shy and asocial, and as a result, their personal development is compromised. To conclude, in my opinion, both rewards and punishments are needed for children's growth. Although parents have these available tools, they must use them carefully. The excessive use of them spoils your kids in different ways.