Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Some people believe banning fastfoods commercials from educational instituitions reduces obesity rate in children. I completely disagree with this statement and will justify my argument in this essay. Firstly, I think it is individual's responsibility to take care of one's health. Parents shoud provide home-made meals for lunch-breaks and it is also teachers responsibility to educate and aware children on adverse effects of consuming junk foods on human health. For instance, my mother used to pack nutritional sandwiches for my school lunch. Secondly, I believe instead of banning adverts in canteens, it would be better if they chose to provide balanced-diet meals like replacing french fries with grilled potatoes, corbonated drinks with fresh fruits juices, and a dishes consisting of both meat and vegetables. This would encourage young people to enjoy various dished and remain fit healthy. For instance, many government schools in Saudia Arabia offers date milkshakes as healthy alternative to canned sodas. Lastly, banning advertisement can affects livelihood of many people ranging from photographers, chef, and various small scale business owners. This would cause corporates to have complete monoply and new businesses would get a chance to make money. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea of not advertising in schools and moderate approaches should be adopted to overcome the threat of obesity.