Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Many companies tend to value the duration of work history when hiring an employee over his education. Prioritizing years of employment tenure compared to training can be beneficial in various ways while considering the right candidate for a key position at a workplace. Firstly, a senior team member, who has already been in the field for many years, is more likely to have been exposed to multiple work scenarios and complexity levels. He brings with him a vast knowledge of tackling tricky situations and applying troubleshooting skills when required. Additionally, being an expert in his field provides him with an edge to be called for consultations in the hour of need and to train junior colleagues who might have more theoretical knowledge but lack relevant work exposure. Furthermore, an experienced colleague proves to be more proactive, holds a sense of predicting changes in the market trends or requirements, and can take necessary measures to act accordingly beforehand for the benefit of his company. Hence, he ends up being a highly valuable asset for a business. As an example, in the stock markets, a person who has witnessed the ups and downs of different commodities over decades would be considered more valuable and reliable to be approached and hired by the clients while purchasing these products, than a highly educated individual who is a newbie to the exchange world and its trends. To conclude, I believe that both experience and education play vital roles in the growth of a workplace. However, the number of years of performing a skill matters more than the time spent on learning it.