People are living much longer than before, and this creates enormous pressure on government services. What are some of the effects of a much larger, older population and what can governments do to deal with this problem?

Advances in medicine and healthier lifestyles mean that people are living longer, and many countries have ageing populations. This creates challenges for governments in supporting a growing number of older people. This essay will look at the effects of this problem and suggest possible ways that governments can manage it. The issue of people living longer has serious effects on governments, taxpayers, and the elderly. It is usually left to the government to support older retired members of the population. This places pressure on taxpayers who provide this money to the government and can also leave older people feeling that they are no longer contributing to society. Elderly people also need a higher level of care and medical assistance, so governments with ageing populations need to spend large amounts on health services such as hospitals, nursing homes and in-home care. However, practical solutions to these problems can be found. Governments could increase the retirement age and encourage people to stay at work longer. This would reduce the number of people who rely on government support as their main source of income and would provide the elderly with a greater sense of purpose. It also means that with people working for longer, the government would receive extra tax revenue, which they could use to fund more health care services for older people. In conclusion, ageing populations put pressure on governments and taxpayers, but by encouraging people to stay at work longer, governments can reduce the effects of this problem. This is an important measure to ensure governments are taking responsibility for the health and well-being of their people.