As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

Globalisation is the process of integration amongst people which was brought about by an unprecedented development in technology, especially in communication and transportation. This process has made cultures and traditions converge into one, creating a belief that cultural identity will fade into a monochrome of uniformity. However, in my opinion, I believe that cultural identity will never be lost as we approach a more globalised world. To begin with, several consequences are caused by globalisation such as a loss of unique cultures. The digital era has ushered in an era of interconnectedness whereby entertainment and other content can be accessed through the Internet. While this interconnectedness allows for the exchange of ideas, it could also lead to a more homogenised world as individuals adopt dominant popular cultural norms. Therefore, this could lead to a gradual shift away from the native culture towards a globally dominant culture, leading to a loss of cultural heritage. This can easily be seen in the spread of American culture through major US conglomerates such as McDonalds and Coca-Cola. Coca-Cola is one of the most popular soft drinks in the world and has always been associated with American culture, especially food. Its expanse in many countries have been a stepping stone for other US companies to set up their businesses, exposing the natives with more American culture which they have accepted and even adopted with open arms. On the other hand, globalisation can be a tool to promote cultural identity. As the world becomes more connected, the differences in cultures, which is sharpened in the process of globalisation, can be a source of conflict. In his “Clash of Cultures ”, political scientist Samuel Huntington argues that post-Cold war politics would be different and only on the basis of cultures. To expand on this conflict, Huntington explains that whilst the West have the most influence and at their peak of power, lesser nations are returning to their old ways because they have the resources and will to shape the world in a non-Western way. This is only intensified by the globalised world where more people are aware of the differences and commonalities between civilisations. Through this shared goal, members of a civilisation can band together in an effort to expand their cultures and heritage whilst protecting cultural diversity. In conclusion, globalisation brought about by the advent of modern communication and transportation has allowed certain cultures to become globally accepted traditions. However, this globalisation can lead to a cultural awareness to take action, incentivising individuals to preserve or expand their heritage on the world stage.