Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, the tourist industry is increasing tremendously. Moreover, in some countries, tourism brings in a large amount of money for its development. However, local residents complain that damage caused by tourists is often swept under the rug. In my opinion, I agree with the arguments. Firstly, because tourism brings in large sums of cash, some countries are ready to push the damage problems aside. Some visitors do not care for the country's nature and beauty. Therefore, historical buildings get damaged and ruined. For example, “The Cliff of Love” in Spain was an attractive location for visitors. However, some of them went too far and broke the cliff and its rich history. Moreover, the person who did it never got any charges because the Spanish government did not want any bad reputations about them. Secondly, some countries are ready to ignore damaged actions from travelers. Some of them are willing to break the law when it comes to ancient structures. Most tourists do not learn the country’s laws when traveling. Therefore, they may break the rules intentionally or unintentionally. However, the government is willing to turn a blind eye to the crimes because tourism brings in a large amount of money. A good example was in 2022, when the painting “Big Apple” in the France Museum got shredded by a group of guests accidentally. Despite the crime, the guest did not get any charge due to their big name status. To sum up, it seems to me that many countries make a large amount of money through tourism. Therefore, many governments ignore the drawbacks of this industry, like environmental damage.