In the past important knowledge of culture and history was stored in the museums. Nowadays information is freely available on the internet so there is no need for museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past museums were the storage of historical and cultural knowledge. According to some, today, in the world of the internet free data is provided on the cyber-space for everyone, hence, museums are not necessary anymore. I generally align with this idea as I think it might benefit our society through saving resources and protecting artworks from potential hazards. To begin with, demonstrating cultural objects in the museums put them in danger of either decay or stealing. Firstly, preserving historical artworks from chemical procedures like oxidation is a serious challenge for executives of museums. Secondly, many valuable objects in museums have been stolen, even in high security museums like louver. For example, the famous monalisa has been rubbed twice in the last 50 years. We should preserve our cultural heritage by storing them in a safe and special place to protect them entirely. Furthermore, running a museum needs huge funding from governmental resources. Because of online museums, authorities could save this grant for other cultural sections like movie production. All in all, in a world that technology rules, there is no need for physical museums in most of the situations. Having said that, It is undeniable that watching historical objects online is not enough for art or archaeology students. These students need to feel and see these things’ texture and technique from a short distance to have a better grasp of them. A viable solution for this problem is to hold a museum for a couple of days for students every semester. In conclusion, These days, because there is plenty of free information about our history and culture on the internet, the existence of museums is not necessary anymore. In my opinion we could protect precious artistic and ancient objects and save our social funding by abolishing physical museums.