Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A lot of countries around the world have a system of recruiting young adults into military service after they finish their education. Some people praise this system and wish if other countries adopt it too. This issue is debatable, therefore, in this essay I will discuss both sides and give my side. Military training is important because it teaches a young people about patriotism therefore creating loyal citizens. Young people are at the risk of being corrupted to turn against their own governments, especially in this age of social media and internet where a lot bad information is circulated. However, programs like military training encourage these young men to stand vigilant and be loyal to their customs irrespective of what the enemy might feed them. More-so, military service helps young people develop life skills, they learn different things such as, self defense, discipline, hands on jobs and many more. However, on the other hand these military services are used to brain wash the young. They manipulate them to avoid criticism against their misgovernance and corruption in the name of patriotism. These young adults are also at risk of being used by the Regime to do their dirty work. For example in Zimbabwe there was a military service for youths called Boarder Gezi, these people were used by the government during presidential election to intimidate the mass not to vote for the Opposition party. It was the worse thing ever because the young men and women were being turned against their own people. in conclusion, I strongly believe that military service is important and useful to our youths but it must not be compulsory. It must be there for those willing, more importantly governments should desist from using these cadres to perform their dirty deeds. should not be compulsary but for those willing