Many students now work whilst they are studying in college or university. This often results in them having less time to concentrate on their studies as well as feeling under pressure. What are some of the causes of this? What solutions could you suggest?

It is quite often observed these days that college or university students are employed part- or full-time. They could be doing so to afford their education, and perhaps their families as well, or to gain hands-on experience through applying their knowledge. However, while doing so, they end up bearing extra burden of both arduous tasks and find it hard to concentrate on academics. In this essay, I will elaborate on the above-mentioned reasons and will try to present a few probable solutions to these issues as well. Firstly, the rising cost of almost everything in today's world has an effect on academic institutions as well. This is especially true for those institutes that equip students for skilled professions, for example, engineering, medicine, information technology, computer sciences, etc. A constant fee hike of these alma maters has made it impossible for pupils from low-income backgrounds to continue studying without having an additional means of earning. As a result, they are compelled to juggle between work and studies, in addition to financing their families, and end up burnt out. A further reason is a competitive employment market trend that prioritizes to hire such candidates who are already equipped with practical experience even as a fresher. As an example, this work experience could be in the form of paid or unpaid internships that were not necessarily part of studies. To avail lucrative job opportunities, most students then become part of this rat race of working while studying at the cost of their mental and physical health. As a solution, the universities should dedicate more scholarships for deserving students, which can ease their monetary burdens. Also, academic organizations could introduce distance-learning or blended-learning modes of education, where degrees might be awarded during an extended period of time but would hold the same credit hours and recognition as a full-time study course. This is to ensure that the enrolled candidates would be able to keep a balance between their professional and academic areas. Furthermore, the government may grant loans to such candidates on the condition to return these loans only after being able to start a stable means of income. To conclude, it is becoming quite demanding to keep up with the modern world's monetary demands. Higher education is costly and most students have to bear burdens of working besides their studies to meet both ends. Therefore, applying a few measures both at universities and national levels would greatly help such knowledge seekers.