In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the advantages of video surveillance outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that the number of video cameras in public places has increased in recent years. This essay will explain drawbacks and benefits of the phenomenon and will show why I support the modern practice. To begin with the disadvantage of CCTV is that it exerts psychological pressure. This is because some individuals afraid of being under CCTV; that increases the level of anxiety and may lead to mental deseases. For instance, some people are affected by the theory of worldwide conspiracy, having a fear of being recorded. So, appearance of mental issues may be caused by video cameras. The second drawback is that recording violates human rights. It is hard to deny that every entertament centre, restorant restaurants, and cafe have cameras which record customers. This tapes could be used against individuals; intelligence services may wach them and form files for every person. On the other hand, as for advantage of the survailance, the preventing crimes and the rising crime detection rate could be considered. Firstly, criminals know that tape will show their identity and avoid to make prohibitate actions. For example, in the downtown of Astana, the city where I base, the number of crimes on streets plummed in a light of appearance of CCTV. In contrast, if they be shure that nobody recognize them, those individuals will commit more breaking law activities. Secondly, the crime detection rate has soared in recent years because investigators can recognize faces and find robbers or thiefs. Alternatively, we can back to the past, where predators could avoid panishment. In conclusion, I consider that upsides of the penomenon such as the creating situations when crimes could not be done outweigh the the violation of rights and the possible psycological pressure.