Band-9 Samples: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern era, there are people who prefer to try alternative therapies instead of going to their doctors. This essay believes that this tendency is negative and in some cases, even dangerous. Doctors spend part of their life studying and watching similar cases, most of their treatments are tested and they are safe. On top of that, most the alternative options come from the internet, therefore, information backgrounds are not checked, and they could cause collateral effects on patient's bodies. To begin with, Doctors studied for many years in order to have the knowledge and capabilities to cure illnesses. They spend part of their life studying and specializing themselves in order to be capable of fully understanding an illness and their effects on our bodies. For instance, in Argentina, each Doctor must spend at least 10 years studying, plus a few years practising in order to become a general doctor. During their path they were able to see and analyze different cases, therefore, they are the indicated person to provide an illness's analysis and possible cures. On the other hand, the majority of the alternative medicines and therapies come from the internet, therefore they are based on unchecked information. All unchecked information, could be dangerous in the wrong hands, this is because normal people are not able to understand a medical condition, and if they do, could be in the wrong way. Let us imagine a 16-year-old kid reading on any website that the cure for his pain is mushrooms, a misunderstanding of the information consumed by the kid could result in an intoxication. For example, during the coronavirus time, the internet was full of alternative cures, some of them super dangerous, and a lot of people tried and died due to misinformation. To conclude, this essay not only agrees that is a negative development, it also encourages people to avoid them and attend to a doctor for any questions they might have