Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that development in technology helps in decreasing the crime rate, while others think it would increase. In my opinion, technology is helping in committing more crimes such as cyber- crimes, identity theft and fraud. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and support my opinion. On one hand, technology advancement would reduce the rate of crimes due to implementing modern security systems at homes and companies, such as advanced surveillance cameras and more secured saves. Many houses, corporations and institutions, nowadays, are secured with advanced security systems and alarm when anyone tries to break in, consequently, would decrease the burglary rate. Moreover, using advanced equipment in forensic, for example, DNA analysis would accelerate detecting criminals in murders and other crimes which might deter them from committing more crimes. On the other hand, the development in technology would encourage crimes as the criminals can use it to commit crimes more easily. Recently, cyber- crimes rate has elevated, for instance, hacking and stealing important data from people and institutions' computers. Additionally, using fake identities to deceive others, to raise money, and to commit frauds. Furthermore, technology implementation in military weapons would increase massive destruction and surge the rate of killing when used in wars. In conclusion, technology advancement has its advantages in controlling more crimes, however, it also enhance different kinds of cyber- crimes. I believe that the hazards of technology outweigh its benefits in crime control.