Living in a country where you have to spake a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication plays a key role in human lives. Language is an important means through which verbal communication is carried out. Speaking a foreign language in a particular nation can bring about social and practical issues. I agree with this. To begin with, language forms an essential part of our culture. Language gives identity to a group of people and even a nation. Speaking another language in a particular country can rob them of their culture as their original mother tongue can fade away. A typical example is Africa and the English language. Most citizens of Ghana speak English than their native language. There are a few instances where the current generation have lost the ability to speak their mother tongue. Meanwhile, the English language is used everywhere thus teaching in schools and the official language of the nation. I do not think it is appropriate for Ghanaians to not be able to speak their country's language whilst they fluently use the English language. Hence, I agree this is a social problem that can arise from using a foreign language. In addition, understanding a language forms the basis of communication and makes living easier. Understanding a foreign language can be challenging and makes it difficult for people to achieve simple tasks in a community where this foreign language cannot be understood. For instance, a person may not understand the label on toilet doors and this can lead to a man using females' washroom, whereas females may end up using men's washroom. This makes it evident that confusion can be caused from misunderstood communication. In conclusion, foreign language use has social and practical downside. I agree with this.