Employers should focus on personality rather than qualifications and experience when choosing someone to work. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When employers choose someone to work with, it is often argued that personality is more important than qualifications and experience. However, I don’t agree with this statement because personality doesn’t have anything to do with how well one performs on the job. In contrast, skill and years of experience would determine who’s the better candidate for the work. Personality depicts the characteristics of a person. The reason why employers focus on certain personalities as workmates is probably because employers believe personality plays a vital role in the dynamic of a team. However, in terms of finishing a project, it’s the expertise that is needed not characteristics. In this case, personality is complimentary rather than mandatory. Comparing a company’s job requirements between the qualifications and experiences of a candidate would be the objective tool to assess how well a candidate fits the criteria. Job requirements are a list of qualifications, experiences, and personal attributes that a candidate must have to be considered for the job position. Furthermore, having a workmate who doesn’t have the essential skills to do the given task might affect the workflow of a team. In contrast, a workmate who is qualified and has years of experience would create additional value for the team. In conclusion, I don’t agree with employees who prefer to choose workmates based on personality compared to qualification and years of expertise, because it would do more harm than good. In my opinion, selecting a candidate based on personality would potentially eliminate skilled candidates who might perform better.