Learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. Is it moreб positive for their future aspect or have some adverse effects. Agree or disagree?

Language forms a key aspect of communication. Some people opine it is beneficial for kids to learn to speak new languages at a tender age. There are some advantages and disadvantages of doing this. I agree with that. To begin with, speaking a new tongue has numerous benefits. Firstly, learning a new dialect is effective during childhood. This is because children have very few things to think about and it is easier for them to remember words they hear over and over again. To support this, there have been reports that children are better at grasping and reproducing words than adults who have lots of things to think about. A typical example is myself, I have not been able to learn any new language in addition to what I learnt to speak at a very young age. Secondly, as a foreigner in a different country who able to speak the foreign language is more confident and comfortable carrying out everyday tasks amongst people from different background. Lastly, they have expanded job opportunities as they can easily work and communicate in languages different from their original one. Hence, I agree teaching new dialects at a tender age is beneficial. In spite of the many benefits, there are some downsides to learning a new language in the early years of a person's life. To elaborate this, children already have lots of things on their table to learn during their early school days. Therefore, introducing a new language to their already packed academic curricula is likely to overburden them and make it difficult for them to perform excellently. A study in China by Huan revealed that toddlers who speak multiple languages perform less at school than their counterparts who speak only their mother tongue. I agree this is obviously disturbing and is a significant drawback to their academic progress. To conclude, speaking a new language at an early age is helpful. However, I agree it has some benefits and drawbacks.