In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent years, there has been a growing recognition of the popularity of working for long hours. From my standpoint, I gravitate toward those who believe that it is a negative tendency. This essay will expound upon this by providing reasons why it happens and practical examples. Firstly, there are tons of elements that cause this issue. It is clear that personal demands are a decisive importance. Specifically, most people have their own fees such as cost of living, and it costs a large amount of money, meaning that it creates a motivation for them to work harder so that they can earn a fortune to afford things more easily. Thus, it is possible that workers can live more comfortably. For instance, according to recent data which was reported by news gave the information about shopping, it was incredible that most Vietnamese people spend over 60% of their income to follow their passion such as buying new cameras for satisfaction. Secondly, it should be noted that this problem is detrimental to workers. It is due to the fact that mental health is compromised by working for long hours, since they may be under the pressure of a hectic schedule without relaxing or reducing stress. Consequently, it paves the way for ease of being autistic. In the case of citizens living in Singapore which has the highest salary per person witnessed the highest proportion of suicide in 2018 because of work overload along with the expensive renting accommodations. In conclusion, I lean toward individuals believing it is a harmful trend. One of the reasons why they go for working for a long time is to earn money to live more comfortably. Nonetheless, it brings numerous drawbacks to workers such as having the ability to be autistic or anti-social came from long-time suffering pressure.