Many people try to balance work and other parts of their life. However, this is very difficult to do. What are the problems associated with this? What is the best way to achieve a better balance?

Work -life balance is an important subject giving the busy lifestyles of many people nowadays. Undoubtedly, there are problems associated with this. The main of which are obesity and social vices. However, tentative solutions to these are restricted work time and establishing gyms at work. This essay seeks to look at these problems and solutions. To begin with, the fundamental problem with not achieving a balanced work and social life is obesity. This is because people spend several hours at work and end up eating from outside where meals purchased are junk. Also, most employees sit for long hours to perform their duties at various workplaces. To elaborate on this, studies have shown that a greater percentage of people who work tirelessly have lots of responsibilities and as such lead sedentary lifestyles and eat unhealthy meals compared to people who are jobless. The effect of being overweight is cardiovascular diseases such as diabetes, stroke and heart attack amongst the workforce. In addition, breeding social vices is another consequence of an inbalanced imbalanced work -life. Family is the main root of a nation and the quest for parents to earn and provide for their children robs them off time with family. This makes children live life the best way they deem as they lack parental supervision. Reduced parental time with children results in most of such children falling prey to violent people in the community and becoming social vices. Despite the issues that can arise from lack of work -life balance, some solutions are establishing governmental laws to restrict the daily working hours. This should apply in all working institutions whether private or public. A publication in the New York Times shows that people are more productive when the spend few hours at work. This will allow workers the time to run other aspects of their lives. Lastly, employers could install gyms at their workplaces and give allowable time period within the working hours to encourage employees to exercise. This will curb the problem of obesity. To sum up, not achieving a work - life balance has problems and solutions.