There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief such as today's modern world children are exposedto alot of pressure to achieve academic success, therefore plenty of people believe that physical education and cookery should be taken off from school curriculum.I completely disagree with this statement. Firstly, physical education and cookery are really important children's future lives. As every child grows up, they will continue their life independently. Thus basic needs like knowing how to cook and taking care of themselves may play a vital role in their future career and life. For example, in my university life, I had experienced that young people who struggled to do basic chores and how to prepare a meal. Their undisciplined household life even had a detrimental impact on their academic life. Secondly, non-academic subjects are essential in terms of staying healthy. Today world is full of danger, it might be pandemics or unhealthy food ranges, to be aware and protect themselves from this kind of dire situations youngsters should be prepared in advance. For instance,in the time of the pandemic lockdown, medics really struggled to help patients because people's body conditions were very poor, since most people did not know how to build a strong immune systems. In that case, physical education and cookery were the most important subjects,since maintaining good health is directly linked to these subjects. To conclude, despite the fact that success in an academic life might be important to youngsters future life. We should be more careful and considerate to practical benefits of non-academic subjects.