Some people think that the education system should only focus on preparing students for employment, while others believe it has other important functions. Discuss both sides and then give your own opinion.

Some argue that the school curriculum should focus on equiping the learner with skills, attitude and knowledge to be utilized when at work but some believe that education can help in other vital areas like personal growth and development. This essay will discuss on both views and I will give my opinion. To begin with, most people study in order to secure a high paying job. This explains why we have different subjects to be tackled by the scholars. For example, students who want to become accountants in future are supposed to perform well in mathematics whereas those wo want to become lawyers have to perform well in literature. This makes the teachers to guide them depending on their capability. However, there are also people who want to be self employed after school completion. This means they only go to school for formality but not to achieve excellent results but to for personal growth and development because they can not start businesses when young. For instance, despite Bob Mark being one of the richest man in Zambia he performed poorly in all the grades during schooling period. This shows high marks do not determine what one will become afterwards and also time can change ones' objectives. In conclusion, i support that every academic system should focus on teaching people how they will conduct themselves when employed and be professors to assist companys to meet the set target.