Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children

It is universally acknowledged that technology dominants diverse aspects of life. In terms of educating the youth, emerging television, as an entertainment object, causes a tendency towards having sedentary lifestyles among juveniles. This essay will express the reasons for this awful phenomenon and also propose practical solutions to prevent it. The reasons for this negative trend could be assessed in two aspects, technology’s appeals and role of parents. The youth are categorized in Z generation types. This generation prioritizes technologically advanced facilities in comparison with traditional ones. Especially, televisions by entertaining channels appeal to youngsters more and foster their fantasy world. On the other side, the rate of crime, such as kidnapping, has risen with the growth of population, so parents encourage their children to stay at home, in order to preserve them from kidnappers and also push them to spend time on TVs. However, implementing the following solutions could assist to cope with these harmful preferences. The first solution would be establishing physical habits in the family. Organizing various physical active plans, such as camping, school trip and team sport by whole family, would be helpful to divert their attentions from TVs. On the top of that limiting TV time by caregivers could be feasible, too. For example, babysitters consider 1 hour per day for minors to spend time on it. In addition, in order to relieve parents’ worries about free play, authorities can provide special playground by surveillance cameras and babysitters would be able to look their offspring. In conclusion, it is believed that offspring’s spent time is more crucial than the adults, so there is more sensitivity on it. Unfortunately, television incentivize minors to opt a sedentary lifestyle which has a negative effect on them. Thus, parents and governments can curb it through manipulating this tendency.