People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In contemporary society, the absence of family time has become an alarming issue in many parts of the world. The following paper will be looking at the roots of this worrying trend as well as examining its influences on the children and society. There are two main reasons why people are not spending as much time with their family as they used to in the past. The primary and most frequently mentioned culprit is hectic work schedules which prevent them from having more time for their family. This is mainly because most people are occupied with pursuing their career path and an independent life. Hence, they struggle in achieving work-life balance and strengthening their family bonds. Another driving factor is technology overuse. To be specific, as technology is moving ahead in leaps and bounds and most teenagers have their own smartphones, they would have a tendency to be addicted to these technologies and therefore isolated from their family. People would rather spend almost their time surfing the internet than engaging in conversations. The growing phenomenon towards the lack of family time is going to have adverse impacts on not only family bonds but also society. In terms of the increasingly less family time can result in the scenario when children have to suffer from emotional distraction between family members. Simply because spending almost all of their time doing assignments or surfing the internet could reduce their time for family, which might fuel the existing misunderstandings In the family even in the worst-case situation. Additionally, with regards to social aspects, the destruction of family relationships might contribute to social problems. In particular, they spend less time with their children and more time at work. They accidentally leave their children vulnerable to toxic environments ranging from their bad friends, harmful habits to media consumption. As a result, they seem to be likely to have criminal behaviors and turn evil, which is a precursor to violence and crime. Taking everything into consideration, reduced quality family time has been happening alertly due to packed work schedules and heavy abuse. Consequently, it causes problems for children and families.