By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that society is also guilty of commiiting murder by punishing murderers with the death penalty. For that reason it would be a better if murderers are senetenced to prison for their whole life. I do not agree with the statement and I will discuss both the aspects in the upcoming essay. To begin with, if a convict is sentenced to a death penalty not only a certain cost is involved to arrange the punishment, but also a number of rules, regulations and protocols are required to be abide by the official who will be arranging the whole procedure. For instance, there are a number of different rules which are applied when a death penalty is announced, these procedures end up taking up a lot of time and resources, due to that reason a life sentence is more beneficial. On the other hand, life sentence may not be a enough punishment for some convicts who did more harm to their victims intentionally with no objective. In few cases death penalty is the best available option as it also encourages a sense of fear among the criminals. A study conducted by the prestigous institute of US summarised a report that after the introduction of death penalty many convicts who were serving their term in jail improved their behvaiour. To conclude, the serverity of punishment has to be decided in contrast to the crime committed, therefore I do not agree with the statement.