In order to study at universities students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all of the students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Studying at a university is a costly affair. Students have to pay hefty educational fees which can not be paid by all. Therefore, a section of society supports that education should be not be exchanged for money, especially at a university level. I do not agree with this school of thought and I will shed more light on this in the following paragraphs. To begin with, free education does not guarantee its full utilisation by all which may lead to wastage of resources. There is no doubt on the fact that education should be given to all individuals irrespective of their financial background but providing it completely free of cost is not the right solution as complimentary materials looses its value. Additionally, people not spending money on education will not give them the zeal to learn which may not be the case if they have paid for it. Moving further, costless learning is not beneficial for the universities or colleges as there is a huge amount incurred on educating people which includes infrastructural cost, human resource cost, stationary and so on. Thus, to compensate all of the expenditure done by the institutions, it is important to take fees from learners. Also, a lot of supporting industries like printing presses, stationary companies depend on educational institutes for their earnings and taking no fees from students may hamper their businesses which in turn may lead to loss of jobs for many people. Thus, it is necessary to take fees from the students. To conclude, the fact that costly education can not be afforded by all and something should be done for those people who can not spare money for it but giving free education to people may not be the right solution rather giving concessions on tuition fees for certain section of the society considering their grades, financial background can be the done.