Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, we live in a modern era where some can change a law by their views for a better life. It is thought by some that the best way to decrease crime is to extend prison sentences, whilst others disagree and think that there are better different ways of reducing crime. It might be true that the extended prison sentences can decline crime, but I believe that it is more beneficial if prisoners can gain valuable new skills in prison which may change their mindset. On the one hand, it is clear that the longer prison sentences have frightened for some to lose their freedom. Moreover, prison conditions are often cruel and therefore they discourage the commitment. The prime example is a violence that can diminish the chances to rehabilitate, and lack of hygiene which create poor conditions for life. As a result, exposure to prison conditions often lead to psychological disorders. On the other hand, many disagree and feel that prisoners can spend their time wisely by learning new skills. In fact, gaining knowledge could change their mental attitude and interconnection with their family. To illustrate, the prisoner spends time sewing, by doing so there is hope for the family that the prisoner would be able to earn money and have a good future. To conclude, the longest prison sentences may drop the crime by imagining the condition in it, however, the beneficial way which is learning new abilities might be more attractive to most prisoners. Overall, focusing on prisoners’ personal growth would assure less crime in society.