Many manufactered food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. SUgar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Sugary foods and drinks have become our everyday staples. People are addicted to consuming more products which contain high levels of sugar in their diets. Therefore, there has been a discussion to increase the price of sugary products in order to discourage people from buying those products. Eating food which contains high concentrations of sugar might cause many health problems, such as heart attacks, obesity, and diabetes. Thus, we have to limit our daily sugar intake to the recommended restriction. However, this is not an easy thing to do because the desire to buy sugary meals and beverages is usually high. For example, if we have to choose to either buy ice cream or vegetables as a treat, then we can confidently say that most people will choose ice cream over vegetables. Therefore there is a need to reinforce the limitation of sugar intake to society by raising the price of sweet products. As a result, people will think twice if they are going to buy them due to the price. Consequently, the daily intake of sugar will dwindle swiftly. On the other hand, some people are against this idea. For instance, the manufacturers do not support this idea because their turnover will decrease if this policy is implemented. This will affect the economic condition of the whole country further. There might be caused by huge layoffs caused by the closings of factories across the country. In my opinion, the idea of increasing the price of sugary products is too much. It is an individual's choice to choose what they are consuming every day. Everyone has a responsibility to their own health and body thus the policy does not really need to be implemented. In conclusion, although there are some benefits like less health problems if this proposed action is implemented, the drawbacks that might be caused by this scheme outweigh the benefits. The economic growth might slow down then it will cause another economic crisis.