Air travel causes environmental pollution, so many people believe that there should be an increase in the price of air tickets in order to reduce air traffic. Do you agree or disagree?

Some claim that air travel directly pollutes environment, so increasing the cost of tickets can decrease the number of flights. Even though I agree with the given statement, in my opinion, other measures also need to be undertaken in order to mitigate the contamination caused by airplanes. Firstly, even though planes provide people with a convenient flying experience throughout the journey, prices of the tickets can be considered one of the main factors people take into account when they want to purchase them. Planes' tickets are already quiet expensive and costly to many individuals, therefore, raising the charge demanded for a ticket can deter passengers to select another transportation vehicle. For example, middle-class families with an average paycheck hardly afford travelling with airplane, however, any raise in the cost will make them consider other options as well, such as busses, cars, trains, and so on. This tendency will result in decline in the number of flights over a certain period which might have some positive impacts on earth. Secondly, even though aircrafts might be considered main source of pollution, people also should not overlook the effects of other transportation means as well. Hence, instead of aiming to reduce the air traffic, government authorities should concentrate on devising new methods to minimize the amount of contamination caused by vehicles, such as developing a mechanism that can filter the polluted air, and only after purifying the air, it can release to the environment. That is why, authorities should invest some resources in research and development of possible inventions that would be beneficial to all nations. To conclude, although increasing the price of air tickets and making them unaffordable to the majority of individuals would be an option to minimize the air pollution, I believe that additional measureas also should be implemented to provide more sustainable solutions in the long run.