Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

On the one hand, as other people believe if children are to decide about several things on their own, it is viewed as a society of teenagers who make their own decisions. Children can be wild and may make decisions that are not good for themselves which may lead them astray. For instance, if an influential boy is into drugs and makes wrong decisions on getting along with gangs that do drugs, this same boy will lead other children astray and they will all get in trouble. Thus, it should be noted that young people should not be allowed to decide on their own. On the other hand, I strongly think that children should be allowed to make their own decisions about what to eat, wear and how they should entertain themselves because this will enable them to mature fast and help them to be responsible at an early age. Further, it is paramount that they should exercise this with the involvement of a parent or an adult. Furthermore, an elderly person will correct them where they go wrong and will also give them guidance or mentorship on how to go about some things. For example, looking at the issue of food, children may not understand about the importance of nutrition, so a knowledgeable parent about diet and nutrients, may educate them on eating balanced diet meals. In conclusion, other people say that children who make final decision on their own, will likely result to having a society of kids who only thing their own wishes. However, in my opinion, kids should be encouraged to think on their own with the guidance of an elder.