In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that the proportion of older people than young people in many countries will increase in the future. This essay will discuss the detrimental effects brought about by this phenomenon. There are several drawbacks that can be reaped from the percentage of older residents than young ones in many nations. Regarding the first drawback, this trend can cause a negative effect on labor in these countries. To explain, older people do not have enough ability to work and dedicate themselves to occupations as young people. As a result, there will be a lack of employees and workers. Simultaneously, the economy in these countries tends to stagnate and even go down. Therefore, there are adverse impacts on employment in these countries if the percentage of older people increases. Another striking argument is that older people can become a burden on the health systems in these countries. To be more specific, this age group can easily get various problems related to health, so governments have to invest in constructing or improving many health facilities. For example, the proportion of older people in Japan has been the highest for a long time, so the governments have spent their budget on enhancing health systems such as hospitals, and retirement homes. Subsequently, the increasing rate of older people than young people has a negative influence on health systems in these countries. To sum up, the employment resources and health systems are perhaps affected negatively by the growth of the proportion of the older people than young peoples. Because of these disadvantages, this phenomenon is a negative development.