Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.”

Crime is a serious offence and, therefore, requires punishment. While some argue that all law offenders should be imprisoned, others believe that criminals should be conditioned in other ways. Nonetheless, I opine that seldom do lawbreakers require imprisonment; while many of them can be counselled in a way that fortifies societies, as well as enhances the future projections of such individuals. On the one hand, since people participating in unlawful activities are aware of their consequences, they should be deterred by giving life sentences of imprisonment. In other words, despite being well-known to the nature of activities and their subsequent results, many adults and juveniles still tend to be involved in delinquency; as a result, courts should take severe actions against them which, not only do they teach lessons to the prisoner, but also implicitly convey the message to the remainder of the population. For instance,in many regions, punishment for delinquency is the same for all age groups because reforms and laws have already been clearly elaborated; it is the criminal mindset that provokes individuals to commit offence. Thus, the only strategy that guarantees safety of societies and to segregate lawbreakers from the general population is by putting them behind bars. On the other hand, ex-convicts should be counselled and should be provided with therapy sessions that change their personalities for good and prepares them to become responsible members of society. To elaborate on this, other alternatives, such as offering training programmes, re-education and re-socialisation not only do they eradicate the anti-social behaviour from the individual, but also enhance their future job prospects despite the criminal record. For example, providing particular training programmes hones new skills, which offenders can employ in their jobs; owing to this, there are reduced chances of reoffending or breaking laws. Hence, instead of incarcerating delinquents, better steps should be taken, in order to reshape such criminals into responsible contributors to societies. In conclusion, albeit several delinquencies require harsh punishments, that does not imply that all offenders should be treated the same; numerous other methods can be opted for that can prompt a change in behaviour in criminals. In my perspective, it is imperative to instill values and modify the behaviour of people committing crimes at a smaller scale, rather than imprisoning them which can further have negative implications for their personalities.