In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

History always triggers human interest. The trend now has shifted toward learning more about past of the home they live in. Its reasons are difficult to identify, however, this is most likely due to the general interest about people from the previous time and to feed our thriller seeking behaviour. In this essay, I will explore the reasons and point out how these histories can be dug up. History has always been about kings and general, though nowadays many groups are interested to learn about the lives of the general people from the past. They want to know about the everyday chores these people performed, what relationship they maintained, what food they ate and so on. To find about the past of these people, there are excellent resources available now. All the previous owner’s name are listed in the local land office, from there they can learn and later search about specific individuals in the archive of newspapers and photographs available in the local library. Studying about the local religion and customs from history books from that time period can be helpful to understand their daily routines. Local musieum can be a treaser trove as well. On the other hand, some people are interested to learn about crimes or abnormal deaths that took place in their residence in the past out of thrill or interest towards paranormal activities. They want to find out if there were any murders or any other violences occured in that place. Information about these can be accessable in the newspaper archive in the library. Additionally, police department declassify solved or old case files time to time, which can be available in their archive too. Though, all these informations can be found in internet nowadays. To conclude, a lot of people want to know the past of their residence. Fascination towards peoples’ lives and thriller could be the reasons behind looking for these informations, which can be found in the archive of the library, musieum and many government offices. However, people can find them now with the click of a button in online.