Some people think that e-books are better to be used for education in order to go paperless. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages. Give your own opinion.

It is argued that some individuals favour the electronic books over paper books. Although e-books benefit the environment and are easy to use; However, they sometimes have problems with longevity or the ability to possess one. This essay will discuss both views, and I will argue that both views have valid points. On the one hand, some schools and universities prefer students to use e-books over paper to study as it is environmentally friendly. Promoting the useage of devices to study a specific subject, can have a positive impact on the environment and therefore decrease deforestation. In addition, it is also convenient and portable because students no longer have to carry heavy booklets that can negatively impact their health. For example, studies have shown, that thirty percent of schools in Germany have now switched to using i-pads, and laptops because of its positive impact on the student's overall being. On the other hand, it is evident that there are shortcomings to advancements in technology. Perhaps the most significant drawback could be the longevity. This means that although such devices could be spectacular in the way they work, their battery life does not last for a long time and may often require charging. Moreover, in some cases, with the ever-rising cost of living, the expense of having e-books can be prohibitive. For instance, this case was seen during COVID-19 were education switched to online platforms and families were forced to provide their young ones with tablets that were expensive. In conclusion, there are advantages to cutting down the use of paper because it promotes sustainability and is beneficial for the student's health in the long run. In contrast, there are also shortcomings to utilising e-devices as they may be costly and they may regularly need to be charged. It appears to be that the benfits of such technological advancement over papers does have advantages that help make the life of individuals easier and disadvantages that can prevent people from using them in education.