As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should pay for the cost. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Constructing road systems is a costly procedure; builing a new road requires a significant amount of financial investment. It is argued by many citizens living within a nation that governments are entirely responsible and must pay to construct these novel systems. However, the government has already invested in multiple forms of travel, making it unjust to have this expectation. This essay will discuss why the user should pay for the cost of road systems. Cycling, buses, and trains are all forms of transport that could avoid the congestion on roads that consequently leads to the implementation of new traffic systems. If the majority of the population decide to use an alternative form of transport, no debate regarding cost procedures would be mentioned. For instance, most European countries have implemented bike lanes and options to rent a scooter in order to reach their desired location within minutes. Therefore, is the use of a car neccessary? Additionally, these options cost the government billions of dollars, therefore the responsibility lies with individuals who choose to utilize the main roads. It can be argued that tax payers provide enough money for the government to implement new road systems, and that it is not an individual responsibility. For example, American citizens pay a huge proportion of their salary towards the government and this should be invested in improving the country. However, the taxes are re-directed to pressing causes such as healthcare insurance. Therefore, the financial burden should not be put on the government. In conclusion, users of road must pay the cost for reconstruction as the government has provided multiple alternatives to reduce congestion on roads. If taxes were directed towards road work then there would be no money invested towards more important issues.