We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in businesses, crime, detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used for in the future? Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There have been innumerable technological advancements over the past century. Computers are found in many devices in the home, such as kettles, refrigerators and fans and so it can be said we are becoming reliant on using them for everything. This can be a good thing since it can make life easier and more luxurious, but does this come with hidden costs? Nowadays, many household devices are run with a tiny computer chip. Something that was inconceivable just a few decades ago. Now, we can turn on appliances with a push of a button. For example, in the winter, I am able to open an app on my phone to heat up my apartment before I get home or to boil water in the kettle without getting out of bed. Moreover, this has been made easier via the Shortcuts app on my phone, in which I can set the tasks to start at a certain time, without even touching my phone. Having all these amenities is like having an invisible assistant doing all these daily mundane tasks, whilst simultaneously freeing up time. Furthermore, in the future the assistant may no longer be invisible but an actual robot that acts as house-help and childcare. But is this free time truly free? Not quite. When we make time by outsourcing to technology, we automatically fill it with something else. As a community, we are doing more in a day that was not even possible thirty years ago. For instance, before the popularity of distance learning, I would go to my tutees' houses to teach them. I would have to factor in the time taken to travel from one household to another and thus on average, I taught three children after school. With online learning, I can now teach 6 children after school, one after the other. The break I would get in between my classes no longer exists and I am expected to be switched on all the time. This has taken a toll on my health as I no longer move as much and have developed a "tech neck". I also find it difficult to unwind after using my brain to such a capacity every night. These are some of the many hidden costs of computers. in conclusion, I believe that technological advancement is inevitable, but it is a personal responsibility to ensure we do not get swept up in the fast pace of life. The dependence on computers is fine, as long as we do not become impotent without them.