When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Most of the time, when we meet new individuals in different places, we judge them immediately based on their personality and whether we like them or not. I firmly believe this is not a good behavior for three compelling reasons. The main reason not to make quick judgments about someone's character is that our decision is likely to be wrong. This is because to judge people accurately, we need a minimum amount of data, which is not available at that moment. A study by Harvard University illustrated that such judgments are wrong 80% of the time. So we should collect much more information to decide on the characteristics of someone we have just met before deciding if we like them. The second reason this approach is unwise is that we need more time. People sometimes don't show who they really are during the first meeting. We should give them a chance to prove themselves, and then we can decide what character they have based on their actions. After that, if the result is positive, we can decide to like them, or vice versa. The last reason to avoid this way of deciding is that we may miss the opportunity to gain a good friend or business partner. For instance, if someone has a scar on their face and we decide that they are a dangerous person and we don't like them, we could be completely wrong. Maybe they were in an accident, and the reason for the scar is unrelated to their character. By acting in this way, we might lose the chance to have a good friend. In conclusion, we often judge people's personalities and decide if we like them or not when we meet them for the first time. I strongly believe we should stop viewing people this way because these decisions might be wrong, require time, and could make us miss opportunities to befriend kind individuals.